OBD2 Scanners Buying Guide

, , Leave a comment

Spread the love

Description of standard fault codes by family
Standard or generic fault codes are a code list common to all manufacturers.

This list of faults, also known as Data Trouble Code (DTC), has been defined so that any diagnostic device is able to read and decode them. Their format is standardized as shown in the following example:

Since the list of generic codes is not always sufficient, the manufacturers can add many codes to their wishes.

Then the last 3 digits correspond to an incremental number (mauve digits). This number can be a hexadecimal number (ie 0 to 9 + from A to F). For the family of P-codes, sub-families have been defined using the first digit (in the example “”3″”):

0, 1 and 2: for the control of the air / fuel dosage
3: for the ignition system
4: for the control of auxiliary emissions
5: for the engine idle control
6: for the on-board computer and auxiliary outputs
7, 8 and 9: for the control of the transmission (transmission)
A, B and C: for hybrid propulsion
These codes have been standardized by the standards SAE J2012 and ISO 15031-6 which, to our knowledge, contain about 4200 definitions in their most recent versions.
We suggest below the translation of the codes most often encountered. Please note that our software contains all the 4200 codes translated into French. Do not hesitate to download it. It is free and allows to read, using an interface of type ELM327, ELM323, the OBD fault codes.

Infographic Source: https://www.wlap.org/best-obd2-scanner/


Leave a Reply